Spotlight On: Rady Student Internships and Jobs

Introducing a brand new regular blog feature about Rady undergraduate students and their internships and jobs!  We want to shine a spotlight on current students and the learning they do outside of the classroom, because often what you learn on a job is just as important as what you learn in the lecture hall.  Have an internship or job that  and want to tell other students what you’ve learned?  Contact undergrad@rady.ucsd.edu to participate!

Our first Spotlight is….

IVY LI

Style Guru, Fashion Blogger Intern

Ivy Li Photo

What’s your major/minor?
Communication/Business with a focus in Marketing

When do you plan to graduate?
Spring 2013

Please describe your internship:
My internship is a fashion blog dedicated to trends and styles featured around different universities all over the U.S and abroad. The website is CollegeFashionista.com and I have been interning there for more than 6 months. Every week Style Gurus from each university submit posts along with pictures that showcase students on their campus. Each posts gives insight on the latest fashion trends and tips on where to get them. It is also a great outlet for those who are passionate about writing and have an interest in the fashion world.

How long have you held this position?
Over 6 months

What are some valuable things you’ve learned on the job? 
I have learned a lot more about the different types of social media, fashion brands, and photograph.

What’s your favorite thing about your internship?
My favorite thing is the aspect of approaching people around campus. It’s a great opportunity to meet people and network. Another is the writing aspect of course. I love being able to express myself and have others take interest in what I have to say.

Did any courses you’ve taken help you at your internship?
I can say all my major courses have helped my internship to some extent. My writing has improved with each assignment I have done in the past year.

What are your future career goals?
My future goal is to be a journalist and have my writing published. That would be the ultimate dream for me.

 

Did you know that an internship can count as an elective for the business minor?  With department approval, Rady can accept business-related internships students complete through UCSD’s Academic Internship Program for minor credit.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

